Overheard Today

In the men’s locker room today after practice.

R: Compared to where I’m from, Japan is such a prosperous country, even minimum wage is pretty good. The way I see it – “just buy another gi.”

me: are you trying to tell E that his dōgi is old and smelly?

E: No, but my daughter thinks it is. [imitating daughter] DAD! You washed your dōgi with my clothes AGAIN?

R: E is fine. But after practicing with certain people, I think I understand how these ki throws work now [pantomimes closing I for an attack and being overwhelmed by a cloud of body odor].

Leave a Reply

