There’s Only This

Three essays about living in the moment.

周六在政治大學上合氣道,有做名為後兩手取腕㧕的技法。此技法是對手從後方抓手脖時將他帶到前方、通過一肢手向下壓制 。再練習當中,先輩問我:
「你有沒有感覺上你在推我?」
「有」
「你想要控制我,但是要先控制你自己。」
我再做一次,仍有推他的感覺。先輩就有幾會得平衡感再站直了。他解釋
「你推我,我也只會跑得遠。但是你破勢了。要先控制你自己才可以控制我。」
我點點頭 。然後試試將他帶到前方後,不推而讓他靠近我身体之處將他指導下去。此時做得好。

釋放希望控制別人時,反而較易得到希望的結果。

Saturday evening Kizomba class
The lead teacher is a Brazilian woman with skin the color of a milky café latte and big bright eyes. She shakes my hand, in greeting, and as we exchange names she continues to hold my hand, and maintains eye contact. I feel connected, and the rest of the room falls away, and I feel as if the rest of the room has fallen away for her, too. It feels completely natural, but not sexual. It was like sharing a glass of water with a friend on a hot day.

When we break contact, she becomes teacher again, and I assume my role as student. I feel a deep admiration, and wonder if I will ever be able to make people feel as comfortable.

During one set, she sees that we are uncomfortable with each other. Many of us are meeting each other for the first time, and kizomba is a dance done in close proximity. “Ok,” she says kindly, “hug it out. I want you to hug each other, get it all out. Connect with your partner.” She leaves a moment of silence, and then continues with teaching us another move sequence.

There is a male instructor. I ask him a question about leading a move called the Estrella. He shows me by facing the same direction as me and connecting his right hip with my left hip, and he counts beats and moves. I move with him, and instantly understand.

After the kizomba class, I go with B, O, and K to a salsa party, B (who is Taiwanese) said of a Taiwanese instructor that he was the “best Taiwanese instructor, excluding foreigners,” because she said “there is something the foreign teachers have that Taiwanese teachers don’t have.”

I think I know what it is – I felt it in the way the female teacher made time stop a little for self-introductions by holding onto my hand a little longer. I felt it in the way the male teacher took me through the timing for the Estrella without using any words to explain. I think it is in the way Brazilian or other Latin American people are so comfortable with touch. They use it just as fluently as they use words to talk. Americans feel like they need to talk to stay connected. Japanese people feel like they need to maintain a respectful distance. Taiwanese people use touch a little bit more, but Latin American people are carrying on entire conversations with touch. I felt a little homesick for a place I’ve never been.

土曜日のキゾンバクラスの後、サルサのパーティーにいった。ある男と話したて分かった事。サルサはオンワンとオンツーの踊り方がある。違いは踏み出すのを一と五の表紙にするのか二と六の表紙にするのか。私はずっとオンワンで踊ってきたが、最近のニューヨークと台湾の流行はオンツー。音楽は同じサルサの音楽けど、踊り場の人の動きを見ていてもよくわからなかった。待っても何も起こらないけど。
踊ってない女性に聞いた 「オンツーでしょう?」
「そう。」
「俺はオンワンしかやったことがない。」
「私は逆にオンツーしか踊った事がないけど、リードすれば頑張って付いていく。」
そこで踊った。何回か失調したけど、協調を取り戻して、案外一緒に踊れた。なんだかオンツーの踊りなれている人の所為かビートの前に動こうとしている用に感じて凄く流暢に動けた。
曲が終わったら、「ありがとう」と俺が言った。
「あんまり付いていけてなくて、ごめんね。」
「いいえ、とんでもないです。」
前話した男がこっちに来て「いい動きをしているね。」と褒めてくれた。
俺は微笑んだ。「ほんとに?いやーね、相手はオンツーしかやったことがなくて、俺はオンワンしかやったことがなくて、よく動けたな。」
「オンツーは少しなれないといけない。俺もずっとオンワンだったが、今はみんなオンツーしかやらないから、なれるしかなかった。少しずつなれてきた。」一拍おいてから話し続けた「まだオンワンのほうが少し得意けど。」

これで自分の歳をちょっと感じた。それと同時に、やってきた事は無駄じゃない。この曲で二人がしてきた訓練をもとに、失調を許してお互いの意図を探ったら、よく動けた。一曲では始まり、進捗、そして終わりがある。そこでの勝負は一方通行でやり直しがない中で、いかにお互い支え合って楽しく動けるか。もっと踊りに限らず、即興的に、相手のいいところに準じて、利になる事がしたい。

Leave a Reply

