Shadow of The Ancestors

My second day back to Tokyo from Wakayama. Friends, coworkers, and girlfriend greet me and I glimpse sacrifices and accommodations they have made to allow me to go. Walking from the office I thought of my family far away, and felt a chill as if my ancestors were very close, and watching me. I looked around and saw no one watching. I looked at my hands, and knew the ancestors were watching from inside, inside coiled strands of DNA, and inside reflexes from all the people that I’ve ever practiced with, and all the people they have ever practiced with, and beyond. I’m a shadow cast by other shadows.

But who is thinking these thoughts?

A switch flips. My shadow body is solid again. Time to train.

Leave a Reply

